News Update: Coding website For Beginners

Yesterday was my first day in my E-Business class and I have to say it went pretty well. My professor had tasked us with creating a new blog to start generating content, but since I already had one, he had asked me what my blog was about. After telling him it was dedicated to gaming, he had me search up a new website that teaches the user how to code and make video games. When I first looked at the site it looked really intense, showing lots of unknown gaming projects. After using the website, what I found interesting about it is that it gives you the option to observe the game you are actually editing and play it side by side as you add new lines of code. It also gives you the option to choose what programming language you want to work on, from C, C++, Javascript, and many others.

This website is pretty amazing in terms of what it features, especially for people like me who don’t know how to program, or what programming a game looks like. The only issue I have with it so far is that it does not show you how to start working on anything. After you register with the site, it just asks for your preferred programming language and then drops you in this page with a code editor, and small gameplay screen on the top left. There is no real instruction on what to do next, or what you should start to look for. It seems like the website is mainly designed for people who already have some background knowledge in programming, who want to have a more convenient method of seeing their work unfold as they continue to add code.

It is very unique website and I will continue to use it and learn more about it. I just think if the website had a tutorial for beginners or new users it would make more sense when you are taken to the code editor. Just so everyone is aware this is my very first time using this site, so there may be more too it, but this is just my impression of the site and I may have overlooked many details. Overall though I am glad that my professor has introduced me to this site, because it is definitely a step forward in getting a career in gaming. I will try to learn as much as I can from the site and expand my skills as much as possible, and hopefully for the readers of my blog will feel the same, should they take the time to check out the website. Here is the link to the page: http://www.codingame.com. I hope it helps those interested in programming. Enjoy.

 

Leave a Reply

